How to improve the Fujifilm X-T1 autofocus

I get a lot of questions about that “red stuff” on my Fujifilm X-T1 buttons. It’s something called Sugru, and I wrote a blogpost about it last year. Since people are curious about how I got it to look so good, I made a video in this blogpost, so come on in…

2015/01/img_0911.jpg

…and find out all about it!

There have been discussions on the D-pad function buttons being too low and recessed into the camera, and on more recent models, Fujifilm have made them more responsive and with a more defined clicking sound. But it’s not the clicking or the sound I’m after. I want to feel them immediately. I want my thumb to know exactly which button it is touching before I push it. And Sugru solved that problem!

So the reason for putting Sugru on a great camera like the Fujifilm X-T1 camera, is simply to improve it even more. And you can do it yourself in less than 10 minutes! You’ll get a camera with more defined buttons that is better, faster and more precise to use. Especially using the autofocus (AF) will improve vastly, since you’ll instantly know what button your thumb is pushing when you are moving the focuspoint around, without looking at the back of the camera. I have improved both of the X-T1 cameras that I use, both the black and the GS version.

Watch the DIY video I made and put on YouTube by clicking here. Hope you find it useful, and feel free to comment and let me know how you did if you decide to have some Sugru fun yourself! Good luck!

2015/01/img_0909.jpg

7 thoughts on “How to improve the Fujifilm X-T1 autofocus

  1. Eivind, thank you so much for sharing this tip. I’ve ordered an assortment of Sugru colors and will likely try this myself soon after it arrives.

    I really enjoy my X-T1 immensely and have used my Canon DSLRs sparingly since getting it.

    1. Hi Ron!

      Thanks for your feedback, and I’m glad you liked it. Let me know how it turns out, and if you’re satisfied or not.

      Cheers,
      Eivind

  2. Hi Eivind!

    Well, my surgery with the Sugru went splendidly. 🙂 I chose Royal Blue for the color.

    As I was applying the Sugru to the surfaces you suggested I wondered what I would do with all that was left over. Well, I use a Sunwayfoto L bracket with a grip. I always felt the grip could be a bit deeper and more grippy so now there is a good layer of Royal Blue Sugru on it. I used a nice knurled screw driver handle to add to the texture of the now blue grip.

    It works beautifully and the tactile improvement to the controls is a real pleasure. I hope that Fuji catches on to this and makes the changes in a future version.

    Warm regards,
    Ron

    1. Sugru surgery eh…! So now it’s Dr Ron I presume!? 🙂 Glad to hear the patient is fine.

      I bet royal blue suits the X-T1 beautifully. And using that knurled handle for adding texture on Sugru was a great tip! Hadn’t thought about that, so thanks. Will definetely come in handy on future Sugru projects. 🙂

      Cool to hear all went well, and wish you a great weekend (Dr) Ron!

      Cheers,
      Eivind

  3. Eivind,

    In seeking tips for my new X-T1, I stumbled upon your ingenious use of Sugru, a product as yet unknown to me. I had considered myself quite the Duct Tape, Epoxy & Velcro handyman, but your video solved my irritation with Fuji’s buttons. The humid temps in Cuba had me slipping and missing buttons as I shot on the streets. Sugru really worked.
    Besides, I must also compliment your congenial and humorous delivery that makes the chore of applying the compound that much more of an adventure in hacking rather than a dull How To.
    I’ll be sharing your Blog and YouTube channel with all my students!

    Gratefully,

    Dave from Seattle

    1. Hi David!

      Thanks for some lovely feedback! I’m just happy to have introduced you to a fourth and mighty powerful member of the DIY family.

      Sorry to hear that you struggled a bit with the X-T1 buttons in Cuba, but I hope you didn’t miss any great shots because of it. Sugru has that rubbery slightly sticky feeling even when wet, and it has worked great for me in humid conditions.

      Your comment “an adventure in hacking” has to be the coolest feedback I’ve ever got, haha! Thanks a million! And thanks for sharing. Hope more people can get even more joy out of their cameras, and I’ll be back soon with more X-T1 related blogpost. I’m working on a complete walkthrough of all my menus and settings, as well as a presentation of lenses with positives and negatives.

      Visited your website by the way, and you have some very cool images there! Lots of great visual inspiration! Keep up the good work.

      Cheers,
      Eivind

Leave a Reply

