New firmware for Fujifilm X-T1, X100T and four zoom lenses

Fujifilm released new firmware for the X-T1, X100T and four of their zoom lenses today. If you haven’t already upgraded, be smart and do it now!

– Firmware 3.10 for the X-T1 and X-T1 GS

– Firmware 1.10 for the X100T
– Firmware 1.01 for the XF10-24mm with improved OIS
– Firmware 3.12 for the XF18-55mm with improved OIS
– Firmware 1.01 for the XF18-135mm with improved OIS
– Firmware 1.12 for the XF55-200mm with improved OIS

12 thoughts on “New firmware for Fujifilm X-T1, X100T and four zoom lenses

  1. I was kind of dazzled by the autofocus speed improvement with the 55-200 immediately after the firmware update. It’s a pretty dramatic difference. At the same time I realized that the firmware in the 35/1.4 could be updated. There is also a claimed focus-speed improvement. I’m not seeing it yet. But the 55-200 improvement is pretty amazing.

    1. Yeah, the Fujifilm firmware updates are usually very good, and quite often over-deliver with more goodies than they say in the release notes. I wish more people knew this, as both their cameras and lenses will improve significantly. Maybe it’s because people aren’t used to more than bug fixes in firmware updates from other brands….

      Cheers,
      Eivind

      1. For the ‘clutch’ lenses, it would be great if a firmware update could bring back-button focus ‘behavior’ in line with other lenses. Whether it’s possible with that hardware, I don’t know. The ‘clutch’ arrangement seems like a mixed blessing. I’m glad they didn’t design all the lenses that way. The combination of ‘clutch’ position, M/C/F switch setting, and various menu options makes this maybe a bit more complicated than it needs to be.

      2. I kind of liked the “clutch” lenses up until firmware 3.0. But now, with the possibility to override AF by turning the focus ring, I just find the clutch a but annoying. When things move fast, it’s a bit too easy (in my opinion) to push/pull the clutch without meaning to in the heat of the action. Some sort of firmware update to perhaps disable the clutch might be an ok solution to make them behave like non-clutch lenses. Luckily the 14 and 23 isn’t the ones I use the most for fast paced shooting (I shoot still subjects like architecture and industrial work with them), so I’m not that annoyed with the clutch. But would be nice to get them in line with the others like you say.

        Cheers,
        Eivind

      3. I haven’t had that accidentally-move-clutch problem yet. The mechanism in the 23mm lens is very stiff. I could live without it, though! I wonder why they chose that design in the first place. I’m glad they’ve limited it to only a few lenses (or maybe just those two).

      4. I’m a bit puzzled too, why those two lenses have the clutch, but not the others… Let’s hope future lenses will be clutch-free.

        Cheers,
        Eivind

      5. I haven’t used the 18-55 since the update, but a friend says he’s found it was also noticeably improved.

        I have been promising myself that I’ll catalogue how the camera behaves in several situations: with the focus ring locked and unlocked; with the on-camera switch in the M, C, and S positions; with the M+A option and perhaps other options on or off via the menus. How does Focus Assist work in all these situations? When is the Switch (versus Press) functionality enabled or disabled? It can be a bit confusing. And so, just after you’ve puzzled it out yet another time, that Pulitzer-prize-winning moment — or just the Adorable Kodak Moment — has come and gone, you’ve missed the shot, and you’re back to taking photographs of cats. (I don’t mean me, of course.)

      6. Just remember; Kodak moments didn’t happen as often as we think they did. When shooting film (and I don’t mean film as in the cinemas…), people usually had a Christmas tree at the start and the end of a roll og film with 24 exposures. And it wasn’t the same Christmas tre…

        Cheers,
        Eivind

      7. Goodbye, Kodak Moments. Now I am having Capture One moments (“Capture One has stopped responding…”). Oh, never mind.

      8. At least that’s better than “The Kodak moment has stopped responding…” 😉

  2. I think Kodak managed to end Kodak Moments on its own. 😦

    But now I see that a European company has introduced a product enabling you to place your mobile phone into a special enlarger (that they make) and project an image onto variable-contrast photographic paper (that they have someone make for them) and then develop it in the conventional fashion. So at least Stop-bath and Hypo Moments are back. So now people can enlarge mobile phone images with that “oil painting” effect produced by aggressive noise reduction, then develop them in Amidol. WOW.

Leave a Reply

